A Loving Father

Ever since I was a kid, I remember wanting to be a number of different things when I grew up. I wanted to be a veterinarian to help animals, a ‘medicine doctor’ to make medicine that actually tasted okay, a radio personality on a morning radio show, or even an astronaut and be able to go to Mars. When I started band in middle school and fell in love with music, I ended up deciding to become a high school band director. Years passed by and I worked to try and become a better musician and get accepted into a music education program at some college, anywhere.

I didn’t get accepted anywhere for music. I didn’t even apply to very many colleges. I applied to two: the University of Northern Colorado and Texas State University. Back then I didn’t have much confidence in myself and I felt like I wasn’t good enough to even apply to big name universities. I got into Texas State University but didn’t get into the school of music there, which as you can imagine screwed up my entire life plan. After going through about a year of emotional and mental turmoil I decided on a whim to change my major to mass communication, and I haven’t ever regretted it. I love what I’m doing and I love the course my life is taking right now, and everything feels right.

Whenever I think about what my goal in life is, I think back to all the times that I felt like I was really doing what I wanted to do, what I was supposed to do. Everything always came up short, though. I was doing what I wanted to do, but it never felt like it was what I was meant to do. I realized everything I did was working towards something and it was all coming down to one thing: I wanted to make the world a better place. But even this felt a little off. Now that I had figured out what I knew I wanted to do and how to do it, the one thing I realized I’ve always been sure of 100% was that I want to be a father.

I was pretty much forced ‘out of the closet‘ when I was 15. This is a long and personal story that I don’t care to really share on the Internet, but I’ve been ‘out’ for about 7 years. I really grew into myself as a gay man during a time where being gay was just starting to become more of an outward thing people do instead of having to hide in the shadows. It was such a tough time because there weren’t very many role models to look up to, and growing up in a pretty religious family was definitely an obstacle. When marriage equality was passed in 2015, it was such an emotional thing for me. I never believed that I would be able to marry someone I love, and now a year later it’s just a no-brainer.

Becoming a father as a gay man is not easy. Stigmas still exist and I imagine living in Texas will just make it harder, but someday I will be a dad. With the conservative government we have right now and for the next four years, I’m afraid the progress we made as a country is in danger. Our vice president and many others think I shouldn’t have the same rights as other people, that I shouldn’t be able to marry the man that I love and have a family with him. It’s scary to think I might lose my rights, but I want to work to make sure my rights and the rights of others won’t be taken away. I want a world where kids like 15-year-old me can feel safe and know they are not alone. I hope someday in the future we can have that world, but until then I want to make it better and be someone that my kid, or kids, can look up to and be proud of.

Chris Soliz, 22

Mass communication major, Texas State University

Leave a Reply

